



Annual General Meeting Minutes 11<sup>th</sup> February 2021

# Open

The 2021 Annual General meeting of the Drysdale Sub Branch RSL was called to order at 1416 hrs on 11<sup>th</sup> February 2021 by President Geoff Zanker.

# Attendance

Roger Atkinson, Lance Barley, Tony Bright, John Brown, Ross Brown, George Browney, Doug Cameron, Geoff Casey, David Clark, Kevin Davis, Pam Davis, Geoff Fifer, Denis Hyland, Ron Kingsbury, Colleen Lincoln, John Milton, Andrea Nisbet, Robert Partridge, Harry Paterson, Neil Remeeus, Len Reed, Bruce Richards, Fran Rowell, Dick Safstrom, Graham Sewart, Neville Stevenson, Jan Taylor, Paul Taylor, Tony Toll, Geoff Wisbey, Geoff Zanker.

## Apologies

Bob Brown, Des Connor, Darren Davis, Greg Davis, Peter Elton, Marg Everett, Glen Ferguson-Thomas, Bernice Goodwin, John Hatty, Gary Holt, John Poole, Keith Thompson, Maria Toll, Brett Wilson, Peter Wood.

## Minutes

The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting were distributed to all members. **Moved:** Geoff Fifer, seconded Len Reed the minutes be accepted. **Carried unanimously** 

# **Business Arising**

Nil

# President's Report

President Geoff Zanker noted the apparent lack of action within the sub branch in 2020 due to COVID-19 restrictions imposed by the Victorian government, but much business was discuss in Committee. He thanked all members of the Committee for their dedication and the voluntary hours put in.

## **Treasurers Report**

The Treasurer's report was distributed and read by George Browney (attached annex A, but not for public distribution on our website). Term deposit #2 matured and the money was transferred to the General account ready to pay for the building works at the back of the clubrooms. We were given grants from Anzac House to cover any financial detriment that might be caused by COVID - any unexpended grant money was returned to Anzac House.

George added that our subscription to MYOB to manage our books has been cancelled, and the accounts are now on XL spreadsheets.

**Moved** George Browney, seconded Doug Cameron that the Financial Report for 2020 be accepted. **Carried unanimously** 

George also mentioned that a Committee meeting on 11 June 2020 proposed the payment of an honorarium of \$100 to each of the main office bearers of our club - President, Secretary, Treasurer and Welfare Officer. The proposal was accepted in Committee, subject to ratification at an Annual General Meeting. Harry Paterson explained the purpose of honorariums for voluntary service to recognise the significant effort put in by such office bearers to keep the club running smoothly. The subject is covered in RSL rules, and most sub branches do make such payments.

**Moved** Geoff Wisbey, seconded Graham Sewart that annual honorariums of \$100 to be paid to President, Secretary, Treasurer and Welfare Officer be ratified by this meeting.

#### **Carried unanimously**

## Welfare Report

Pam Davis presented a Welfare and Appeals report (attached Annex B). She mentioned the difficulties in visiting our Aged Care facility due to COVID, and noted the passing of three respected residents.

**Moved** Pam Davis, seconded John Brown, that the Welfare and Appeals report be accepted. **Carried unanimously** 

### **Dismissal of 2020 Committee**

The President stood down the 2020 committee and invited Bruce Richards to assume the chair to conduct the election of office bearers for 2021.

Bruce thanked the outgoing committee and commended the committee for all their work.

Position	Nominations	Elected Yes / No	Nominated	Seconded
President	Geoff Zanker	Yes	G. Fifer	H. Paterson
V/President	John Milton	Yes	G. Zanker	H. Paterson
Secretary	Harry Paterson	Yes	G. Browney	P. Davis
Asst Secretary	nil			
Treasurer	George Browney	Yes	G. Zanker	H. Paterson
Assist Treasurer	Gary Holt	Yes	P. Davis	K. Davis
Welfare Officer	Pam Davis	Yes	H. Paterson	G. Zanker
Appeals Officer	Geoff Zanker	Yes	H. Paterson	P. Davis
Pension Officer	Geelong RSL			
Membership Officer	Graham Sewart	Yes	P. Davis	G. Fifer
Committee 1 <i>Bar keeper</i>	Kevin Davis	Yes	H. Paterson	G. Zanker
Committee 2	Colleen Lincoln	Yes	H. Paterson	G. Zanker
Committee 3	John Brown	Yes	G. Zanker	H. Paterson
Committee 4 <i>Memorabilia</i>	nil			
Committee 5 Golf Day	Geoff Fifer	Yes	G. Zanker	H. Paterson

# **Election of Office Bearers 2021**

All nominees for positions were elected unopposed. Nominations for the positions of Assistant Secretary and Memorabilia Officer were called from the floor. There being no nominations from the floor for these positions, it was decided that the incoming committee discuss and approach members

to fill these positions. David Clark later accepted the Committee member #4 responsible for the memorabilia collection.

Once the elections were complete, Bruce invited the successful nominee for President, Geoff Zanker to resume the chair.

## **Bank Signatories**

Signatories for the bank accounts for 2021 will be President, Geoff Zanker; Secretary, Harry (David) Paterson, and Treasurer, George Browney.

### **New Business**

Geoff Wisbey spoke for five minutes on the difficulties experienced in retaining a driving licence.

### Close

Meeting was closed at 1500 hrs for refreshments.

Minutes submitted by:	DW Paterson
Approved by:	GN Zanker